Always Watching

New Heroes Poster

In 2009 Fall Season, Californication, Heroes, NBC, Sci-Fi, The Nanny on 08/20/2009 at 12:29 am

Heroes - Redemption

So…I really want to try and stay tactful here with this post.  It’s kinda hard, though, because as I write this in the little box thing-y that I write posts in, I have a massive serving of cleavage just above the words I’m typing.  The box isn’t big enough to fit anything above the neck so I’m just face to face with boobs.  It’s very distracting… I think I’m creeping myself out.

Maybe that’s what NBC was going for?  Creepy old sci-fi dudes?  I just read a news article yesterday that said the average gamer is 35 years old, over weight and depressed.  Are they Heroes‘ target audience?  If so, homerun NBC Universal art department!  Give yourselves a round of applause.

If they’re not who you’re shooting for then I gotta say nice try but maybe you should head back to the drawing board.

Now, don’t get me wrong, I am not one of those haters who have been bashing on Heroes the last two or so seasons.  Each time I’m confronted with “that show sucks now” or “you still watch that?”, I reply in a firm tone, “It’s not that bad – it hasn’t changed that much.  What do you expect?  The writers can’t please everyone, especially when it comes to sci-fi shows and/or shows that have been as hyped up as Heroes.  They still have the same great characters and Sylar is a freakin’ badass.”

Anyway, I’m on your side here, NBC.  I realize there’s been creative problems and the backlash to the hype has been brutal, so I’m all for you guys doing what it takes get some eyes back on the screen.  My problem here, though, is that this poster is rather gratuitous.  There was just no reason for all that cleavage. You couldn’t have switch Hiro and Claire?  Or maybe just turned her a slight bit to the right?  Maybe covered her up a bit?  It just smacks of desperation.  Like you’re trying too hard.

Here’s the other thing…The other creepy part:  I started watching Heroes way back when it debuted in September of 2006.  If I’m not mistaken, Claire was just this side of her sweet sixteen party.  The millions of people out there who’ve watched Claire grow up and struggle through high school, have her first kiss, survive her first bullet wound…We’re supposed to stare at her breasts now?

Up until today I had mostly ignored all the rumors about a potential lesbian experience for Claire and her new dorm buddy (though good call on casting Madeline Zima as the room mate).  I figured everyone was blowing it out of proportion and it would most likely amount to nothing more than some flirting.  Maybe a face to face, kiss is about to happen when a knock on the door interrupts type of moment.  Now, after seeing this poster, I’m not sure you won’t blow it up to a tasteless jump of the shark.

I have a suggestion here.  Go watch a season or two of Madeline Zima on The Nanny, then watch her on season 1 of Showtime’s Californication.  See how creepy you feel?  Now go and rewrite the scenes involving Claire and her roomie.

On a final note, I’d like to end things positively and say that I do like the “Greater evil, greater good” tagline.  Bravo on that.  Kinda harkens back to the “Save the cheerleader, save the world” thing you had going back in the old days.

Heroes returns for it’s fourth season with a two hour season premiere on Monday September 21st at 8pm on NBC.

And in caser anyone missed it, we posted about the new trailer for season four here.

Leave a Reply

