Always Watching

House – Instant Karma Review

In 2009 Fall Season, Fox, House on 10/17/2009 at 8:28 am

House – Instant Karma review by Tara

Normally the patient’s are just the ‘means’ they are the case but we don’t normally care much about them. It’s how the team comes together after trial and error (and trial and error, because as they usually do solve the ‘unsolvable’ it isn’t without a lot of miss fires) to fix them that compels us to watch. But this week, our patient, the son of a very wealthy man, excites me in a way no one has thus this season.

“I want House.” Three words and yet I practically leapt out of my seat. Finally. Someone saying what I have been saying. (And I imagine everyone at home, unless they really dig Foreman). So maybe it’s not the patient I love, as his father, demanding the unshaven doctor be the one treating his son. And he’s played by the guy we see everywhere, Lee Tergesen, (most famous in my mind for his role on Oz), so it’s like he really is the voice of the people. “I want the best. And everyone I’ve asked says that’s House. So unless he’s dead, comatose, or insane, I want him treating my son today.” My response to this is, why did the TPTB make us wait this long for you?

The scenes between Chase and Foreman where they are trying to figure out how they are going to cover up Chase basically killing President Dibala in last week’s episode served two different purposes for me. In one sense I felt like I was getting hit over the head with how serious this was and how Foreman could lose his job, etc, etc. I got it writers. But what I did like about the story line was Chase’s way of coping. He could not be present with his wife at all. So distant. And yet he, in many ways, if I were to take last week’s scene correctly, did it for his wife. Numerous times we were shown Cameron waking up alone. Foreshadowing absolutely. Again, I really think Jesse Spencer is showing some great acting chops in these two episodes. (Then again these two episodes is more he has had to do than in the last two years). Not really a fan of House knowing, an in an essence being okay with what Chase and Foreman (since Foreman burned the evidence) did. Wasn’t there something in the past Chase did that House reprimanded him for? And I think it was far less than killing someone.

As I’ve said before I actually like Thirteen, but what in the world was that randomness? I mean, really? I still don’t understand it. This actually made me start to believe those theories that the writers really do just want her in whatever possible, because, seriously what the peanut butter crackers was that all about? House tells her he doesn’t want her back on the team because he wants to save his relationship with Foreman? (I won’t even go into the weirdness that was the cab ride) Then later when Cuddy brings up the fact that Thirteen called about the hacking, (seriously why can’t she just re-book her flight? Am I missing something?) House then says it’s about Foreman staying in charge of the team. I don’t know. The whole thing confused me. Then Wilson got involved. So he did hack it? But for what reason? I still don’t get, or don’t understand. Wow. I could write more about how I feel that was the most pointless storyline, but I feel you get my drift.

Two weeks in with the old team and I can honestly say I don’t really care either way. I don’t have strong opinions one way or the other. I remember when the introduced the new team a few years ago, I thought it was a nice way to literally infuse the show with new blood. Now, as we go back to the old cast, who have been relegated, with the exception of Omar Epps as Foreman, as side players, it becomes even more apparent. It doesn’t matter who is on the team, it’s House that matters. My problem now with the re-introduction of the old team, is having to remember who and where they where. I know there are some out there who could run a list of Cameron facts, but I can’t. I don’t think I knew either her or Chase’s first names until this week’s episode. Again, I find myself not caring, but at the same time thinking, I should know this by now. It’s an odd thing to be thinking in the middle of watching a familiar television show.

A few final thoughts: Again I loved just the little moment between House and Cuddy where they where talking about Foreman staying in charge. “He loves power. And I loves puzzles.” “You love power and puzzles,” Cuddy retorts. “True, but when I had then both..” There’s just that little moment where they look at each other. It’s perfect. It’s not a Wilson/House moment, but it’s close. And again I still like how House is really trying to not fall back into old habits but move in a forward direction, stemming from that first episode.

What made this episode infinitely better than those before it: House actually being involved in the patient’s case. Therefore we are slowly getting are show back.

  1. Dear Tara,
    my colleagues and i felt that it is imperative that you and your family members be informed, that based on the ideas expressed on your review of “House M.D.”s S06E04, as well as the level of confusion that bestows you concerning the events that took place on said episode, one can only derive the conclusion that you are mentally retarded.

    with regards,
    Dr. Screwyouson

Leave a Reply

